Premier League clubs' cosmopolitan ownership revealed with more US owners than Brits after Burnley takeover

THE Premier League now has more American club owners than British after ALK Capital completed their takeover of Burnley.

The American investors secured an 84 per cent stake in the Clarets earlier this week, spending around £200million.

ALK managing director Alan Pace has replaced Mike Garlick as Burnley chairman.

Pace quickly promised to back Sean Dyche financially in the future.

The new Clarets chairman said: "We’re very prepared to come in and support Sean and the management.

"We need time to understand what their needs are and where they want to go, but we are fully prepared to back the manager.

"We’ve been very big fans of his for some time. The longevity and stability of the coaching staff has been a big impact for us.

"We are extremely excited. We’ve spent a lot of time looking at football clubs.

"We were attracted by the passion of the fans, the longevity of the coaching staff and the ability to see a path to growth.

"For us, we wouldn’t do anything that’s not on a long-term basis."

After the US outfit's takeover of Burnley, there are now more American owners in the Premier League than British.

Incredibly, there are just SIX top-flight clubs owned or part-owned by Brit businesspeople.

Brighton (Tony Bloom), Everton (Farhad Moshiri), Newcastle (Mike Ashley), Tottenham (Joe Lewis) and West Ham (David Gold and David Sullivan) are the only Premier League sides owned solely by Brits.

Crystal Palace are part-owned by Steve Parish, with Americans Joshua Harris and David Blitzer also owning a stake at Selhurst Park.

In total, SEVEN Premier League sides are owned or part-owned by Americans after Burnley's takeover.

Manchester United are famously owned by the Glazer family, while Arsenal have Stan Kroenke at the helm.

Premier League champions Liverpool have John W Henry as owner, while Fulham, Aston Villa and Palace also have Americans in that role.

There are also owners from Russia, Italy, UAE, Egypt, China, Saudi Arabia and Thailand in the cosmopolitan Premier League.

Source: Read Full Article