How Arsenal could line-up next season as Mikel Arteta plans MASS transfer clear-out with Lacazette axed and Odegaard in

ARSENAL are planning a mass transfer clear out at the end of the season.

Alexandre Lacazette and David Luiz are two big names expected to leave but with the Gunners aiming to land Martin Odegaard and Dani Ceballos on permanent deals, the North Londoners' starting XI could have a fresh, youthful look next season.

Mikel Arteta will guide major cost-cutting plans — despite just slashing their wage bill by almost £700,000-a-week already.

Arteta and technical director Edu are already making plans for the summer window.

They want to sign Ceballos and Mat Ryan on permanent deals from Real Madrid and Brighton respectively, and may seek to agree a fee with Real for Odegaard.

But with no prospect of admitting fans this season and a £120million short-term loan to repay to the Bank of England, the club are feeling the pinch like never before.

Chief executive Vinai Venkatesham has already started the economy drive by cancelling the contracts of Mesut Ozil, Shkodran Mustafi and Sokratis Papastathopoulos.

With Sead Kolasinac, Ainsley Maitland-Niles and Joe Willock also loaned out last month, Arsenal will save £16.5m on wages for the rest of this season.

Lacazette is rapidly approaching the final year of his £150k-a-week contract and no decision has yet been made as to whether to extend that deal.

The £52m French striker remains a key part of Arteta’s squad but the club are in no mood to give him a pay rise and could sell him this summer, rather than risk him going for free next year.


Veteran defender Luiz, 33, earns about £120k-a-week and is out of contract this summer — when he will probably be released.

Midfielders Matteo Guendouzi and Lucas Torreira — on loan with Hertha Berlin and Atletico Madrid — will be sold in the summer for around £25m each.

While defender Kolasinac is likely to leave for a nominal fee and the club may consider offers for Joe Willock and Maitland-Niles, plus other home-grown stars Reiss Nelson and Eddie Nketiah.

Read our Football live blog for the very latest news from around the grounds

Source: Read Full Article